Consultations by Appointment
(After-Hour Appointments Available)

281-597-8818
11767 Katy Freeway, Suite 740
Houston, Texas 77079

979-826-8484
918 Austin Street
Hempstead, Texas 77445

Legal Blog 2019

What's the Real Cost of a DWI in Texas?

Every 20 minutes an alcohol-impaired driver kills someone in a DUI crash in Texas.  If you or a loved one need help with a DUI or DWI in Texas, call the #DUICarCrashAttorneys today!

Recent year TX stats according to MADD:

  • 1,337 drunk driving fatalities [representing 39.5% of all traffic deaths]. This is a 3.6% increase from last year.
  • 15,687 alcohol related crash injuries
  • 25,479 alcohol related crashes
  • 99,195 DUI arrests
  • 71,030 DUI convictions

Texas DWI fines according to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDOT):

1st Offense

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • 3 days to 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver license up to 1 year
  • Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years to keep driver license

2nd Offense

  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • 1 month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver license up to 2 years
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for 3 years to keep driver license

3rd Offense

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver license up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

More on Repeat DWI Offenses

After two or more DWI convictions in five years, a special device must be installed on the vehicle. This ignition switch acts as a mini breath test device that won’t allow the vehicle to start if the driver has been drinking. Ignition switches cost $70.00 to $100.00 per month.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: DWI Education Program

This 12 hour course is designed for first-time offenders on probation. The program teaches how alcohol and drugs affect the body, mind and driving abilities. It also addresses Texas DWI laws, substance abuse and dependency.

This course must be completed within 180 days from the first day of probation.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: Fees to Reinstate Driver's License & Surcharges

Fees and surcharges related to reinstating a driver's license varies, depending on age and case but everyone must pay a $125 fee for license reinstatement after an Administrative License Revocation (ALR), which can happen whenever a chemical test is refused or failed. Also, depending on the DWI education program, surcharges can range from $1,000 to $2,000 every year for three years. 

Cost of a DWI in Texas: Auto Insurance

The auto insurance rate will increase after the conviction even after a lot of time has passed.  Renewal rates usualy increase when a provider reviews the driving report and sees the conviction.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: The Job

A DWI leaves a mark on a persons' record forever which can result in unfavorable background checks.  People can also lose their current job because of time needed to take off work to meet with the parole officer (if this is a part of punishment) and fulfilling community service and other requirements. 

Other potential costs:

  • Bail: ranges from several hundred to several thousand dollars
  • Towing & impound fees:  $100—$200
  • Required classes
  • House arrest can be given (including an ankle bracelet and associated costs and requirements)
  • Community service
  • A DWI education program
  • Fees to reinstate driver's license and surcharges

The real cost of a DWI in Texas depends on several factors including nuances of the case, number of offenses and other factors.  The attorney hired makes a difference in the outcome.  Call us today for a FREE Consultation!  Don't wait...several actions can be taken before this goes to court.  The earlier an attorney is hired, the better.

#BestDUIAttorneysHouston

#BestDUIAttorneysNearMe

#BestDWILawyers77079

#BestDWIAttorneysHarrisCounty

#BestDWILawyersHouston

#BestCriminalDefenseLawyersNearMe


What's the Real Cost of a DWI in Texas?

Every 20 minutes an alcohol-impaired driver kills someone in a DUI crash in Texas.  If you or a loved one need help with a DUI or DWI in Texas, call the #DUICarCrashAttorneys today!

Recent year TX stats according to MADD:

  • 1,337 drunk driving fatalities [representing 39.5% of all traffic deaths]. This is a 3.6% increase from last year.
  • 15,687 alcohol related crash injuries
  • 25,479 alcohol related crashes
  • 99,195 DUI arrests
  • 71,030 DUI convictions

Texas DWI fines according to the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDOT):

1st Offense

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • 3 days to 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver license up to 1 year
  • Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years to keep driver license

2nd Offense

  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • 1 month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver license up to 2 years
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for 3 years to keep driver license

3rd Offense

  • A $10,000 fine
  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver license up to two years
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

More on Repeat DWI Offenses

After two or more DWI convictions in five years, a special device must be installed on the vehicle. This ignition switch acts as a mini breath test device that won’t allow the vehicle to start if the driver has been drinking. Ignition switches cost $70.00 to $100.00 per month.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: DWI Education Program

This 12 hour course is designed for first-time offenders on probation. The program teaches how alcohol and drugs affect the body, mind and driving abilities. It also addresses Texas DWI laws, substance abuse and dependency.

This course must be completed within 180 days from the first day of probation.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: Fees to Reinstate Driver's License & Surcharges

Fees and surcharges related to reinstating a driver's license varies, depending on age and case but everyone must pay a $125 fee for license reinstatement after an Administrative License Revocation (ALR), which can happen whenever a chemical test is refused or failed. Also, depending on the DWI education program, surcharges can range from $1,000 to $2,000 every year for three years. 

Cost of a DWI in Texas: Auto Insurance

The auto insurance rate will increase after the conviction even after a lot of time has passed.  Renewal rates usualy increase when a provider reviews the driving report and sees the conviction.

Cost of a DWI in Texas: The Job

A DWI leaves a mark on a persons' record forever which can result in unfavorable background checks.  People can also lose their current job because of time needed to take off work to meet with the parole officer (if this is a part of punishment) and fulfilling community service and other requirements. 

Other potential costs:

  • Bail: ranges from several hundred to several thousand dollars
  • Towing & impound fees:  $100—$200
  • Required classes
  • House arrest can be given (including an ankle bracelet and associated costs and requirements)
  • Community service
  • A DWI education program
  • Fees to reinstate driver's license and surcharges

The real cost of a DWI in Texas depends on several factors including nuances of the case, number of offenses and other factors.  The attorney hired makes a difference in the outcome.  Call us today for a FREE Consultation!  Don't wait...several actions can be taken before this goes to court.  The earlier an attorney is hired, the better.

#BestDUIAttorneysHouston

#BestDUIAttorneysNearMe

#BestDWILawyers77079

#BestDWIAttorneysHarrisCounty

#BestDWILawyersHouston

#BestCriminalDefenseLawyersNearMe


Guidelines to Finding a Good Family Law Attorney

A #FamilyLawAttorney is an attorney who handles the legal matters of families including marriage, divorce, child custody, property, ownership, etc.  When a person has a legal issue in family matters a family law attorney needs to be hired.

 

Here are guidelines to finding the #BestFamilyLawAttorneyNearMe:  

 

Research the Law Firm

Research family lawyers in your area and gather information about his or her background by going to the website for the law firm.  You also want to go to social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and LinkedIn to learn more.  Be sure to go to review sites such as AVVO and Yelp and Google My Business to learn what others are saying about your potential family lawyer.  

Schedule a Consultation

Call the family law attorney you decided to research to get a consultation.  This gives you the opportunity to find out who the attorney is and how he or she can best assist with your case.  Some attorneys charge a consultation fee; at Looney & Conrad, our consultations are free.

Bring Your Documents to the Consultation

When you call the family law attorney, ask what documents you need to bring with you for the consultation and then take copies of the documents with you. Leave the original documents at home in a safe place.  

Think About Your Case

Gather details about your case and make notes to ensure you give the family law attorney every piece of information you have. The family law attorney will ask a lot of questions and you need to answer them properly and in detail.  Even what may appear to be a minor detail can make a difference in winning a case in court.

Make the List of Questions to Ask

Bring a list of questions with you that you want to ask the family law attorney about your case, about the lawyer and about the fee.

The sooner you make the decision about which family law attorney to hire, the sooner he or she can begin work on your case and the sooner you will get the issues resolved.  


Guidelines to Finding a Good Family Law Attorney

A #FamilyLawAttorney is an attorney who handles the legal matters of families including marriage, divorce, child custody, property, ownership, etc.  When a person has a legal issue in family matters a family law attorney needs to be hired.

 

Here are guidelines to finding the #BestFamilyLawAttorneyNearMe:  

 

Research the Law Firm

Research family lawyers in your area and gather information about his or her background by going to the website for the law firm.  You also want to go to social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Google+, YouTube and LinkedIn to learn more.  Be sure to go to review sites such as AVVO and Yelp and Google My Business to learn what others are saying about your potential family lawyer.  

Schedule a Consultation

Call the family law attorney you decided to research to get a consultation.  This gives you the opportunity to find out who the attorney is and how he or she can best assist with your case.  Some attorneys charge a consultation fee; at Looney & Conrad, our consultations are free.

Bring Your Documents to the Consultation

When you call the family law attorney, ask what documents you need to bring with you for the consultation and then take copies of the documents with you. Leave the original documents at home in a safe place.  

Think About Your Case

Gather details about your case and make notes to ensure you give the family law attorney every piece of information you have. The family law attorney will ask a lot of questions and you need to answer them properly and in detail.  Even what may appear to be a minor detail can make a difference in winning a case in court.

Make the List of Questions to Ask

Bring a list of questions with you that you want to ask the family law attorney about your case, about the lawyer and about the fee.

The sooner you make the decision about which family law attorney to hire, the sooner he or she can begin work on your case and the sooner you will get the issues resolved.  


We Have a Stellar Record of Success!

Call Us Today at 281-597-8818
For Priority Scheduling, ask for Paul Looney
11767 Katy Freeway, Suite 740 Houston, Texas 77079

or 979-826-8484
918 Austin Street Hempstead, Texas 77445